fbpx

JBP full logo black

icon ecomm1 icon newsletter1 icon fb1 icon twitter1 icon instagram1

Your House Will Pay


Steph Cha


Two families.
One desperate to remember, the other to forget.
Will the truth burn them both?

Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn't normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister's estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison.

But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever.

Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty's The Sellout.

Steph Cha is the author of the Juniper Song crime trilogy, Noir Editor at The Los Angeles Review of Books, a contributing book reviewer for The Los Angeles Times and a regular panelist at crime and literary festivals. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two basset hounds.

Category:  Fiction
ISBN:  9780571348213
Publisher:  Faber and Faber
On sale:  February 2020
List price:  R325 
Format:  Paperback
eBook ISBN 
BUY ONLINE:
Takealot reseller loot
EB logo Protea
 RW.JPG Balakudu 
 Graffiti Logo.PNG Raru